you're reading...
Uncategorized

Trying out my new phone


I recently upgraded to a new smartphone the 4G HTC EVO from Sprint that runs on the android operating system from Google. Today I was goofing around shooting some videos and here is one that was shot in 720p:

About raylindairy

Ray is a partner with his parents in Ray-Lin Dairy in Denair, Ca. The operation milks 475 cows and double crops corn & winter forage on 130 of the 240 acres with about 90 acres of pasture. The family also has 1200 ac operation in Klamath Falls OR that raises alfalfa hay, wheat hay, and oat hay. Ray is currently secretary of the Agchat Foundation an entity he helped found whose mission is to empower farmer to use social media. He is currently a on the board of directors of CA Dairy Campaign, Dairy CARES, and is the 2nd Vice-President of Stanislaus County Farm Bureau. He is also a member of the National Dairy Board. In addition to his involvement in agricultural organizations’ he is the Chairperson of the Governance Committee at a newly formed charter school his daughter attends, and serves as a director for the East Stanislaus Resource Conservation District. Ray and his wife Erica live on the dairy with their two children.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Trying out my new phone

  1. Fun to try out new phones…hope yours works out for you. We’re waiting for a new cell phone tower to be installed down the road from us…..can’t wait for good service at our ranch:)

    Posted by The Wife of a Dairyman | July 1, 2010, 7:13 AM
  2. Hi,

    I’m the spouse of a third generation cattleman. I’ve been tempted to post video of him with his cattle on the internet just to show how well his cattle are treated. Thank you for starting your blog. Animal rights activists spread propaganda and lies and they need to be counterred. Keep doing the good work.

    Posted by Jamie | July 2, 2010, 7:44 AM
  3. Hi,

    I just got done reading the article “farmers defend way of life with facebook, twitter – Yahoo news”. I found it quite interesting and must say that seeing your clip of your cattle they are very healthy looking! Beautiful animals. I can’t stand groups like PETA and some of the other animal rights groups who take things out of context and go to far with it. They love to go to the extreme and make it look as though most farmers instead of a few treat their animals horribly. Although I do not live on a farm I have to say I am with you 100%. I’m sure you have probably found a heck of a lot of other folks out there who agree with you as well. I will check back often to see your posts, thank you so much for sharing with those of us who do not work as hard or put in the hours you do. I have always wanted to live on a farm, even if it was a small one. Bless you and keep up the good work!

    Again, thank you for sharing.

    Sincerely,
    Gloria

    Posted by Gloria Schwenderlauf | July 2, 2010, 8:29 PM
  4. Hi,
    I read the news article on my favorite news website on Iwon.com- http://apnews1.iwon.com/article/20100702/D9GN3P280.html, and had to follow the link to your home page to tell you that I am in agreement with you. I grew up here in New Jersey, and saw first hand farms in the area I grew up in. I had friends whobelonged to the FFA (Future Farmers of America), and my earliest experience with a farm was when my brother was taking care of a neighbor’s horse and it got loose and went into the pasture where the cows were. I learned what they meant by “watch your step!” Our neighbor had a dairy farm for years, but it was sold off and made for development. There is nothing sadder than seeing farmland turned into houses. Our neighbor is still a farmer, but he is now a tenant farmer and all he grows is hay and alfalfa. It’s sad not to see the cows on a lazy summer afternoon congregating under a tree, tails flailing and keeping the flies off one another. The funnier thing was watching those not local to the area, slowing down, rolling down their windows and calling out “moo, moo”- I think half expecting the cows to come over to the fence to find a long lost brother. I’m sorry that I digressed- it’s just that after reading the article in the Associated Press, I felt a need to write to you.

    You are a farmers, and I am so thankful for that. I know that eggs don’t come from cartons, and that hamburger meat just doesn’t magically appear in containers on my local grocery store shelf. I know that it takes time, energy, and caring about animals for any of this to happen. We shouldn’t be thankful for our farmers only when it’s near Thanksgiving- we should be thankful 365 days a year. Please know that there are many of us out here who know that we are thankful for all that you do, and how dangerous farming can be. God bless you all!

    Posted by Mary Murdock | July 3, 2010, 6:21 AM
  5. although ive never been on a farm,when doing family history, there are no kings or queens in my blood line only farmers farmers farmers. you and farmers like you are our history, the foundation for an amazing work ethic(we dont see much of anymore) the true meaning of family. if we honor our soldiers(as we should) for defending our great country, then we should honor the farmers who helped to build our great country.
    THANK YOU!

    Posted by vicki | July 3, 2010, 3:24 PM

Leave a Reply

Farmer Bloggers

Rambles

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16,045 other followers

Follow the herd on Facebook!

Categories

