you're reading...
#Agchat, Agvocacy, California Farmers, Sustainability, Uncategorized

Want to see my farm?


My family and our dairy farm are very lucky to be located between San Francisco and Yosemite in the Central Valley of California. Because of this location we are in the flight path to and from San Francisco International Airport AKA SFO. When I have a window seat I try to locate my farm as we fly over. Many times I have had a seatmate on flights thoroughly amazed I can pick my farm out from such a high elevation.  If you can pick out Yosemite National Park and Half Dome you too can see our farm just a few minutes later as you head west.

The view of my family's farm from an airplane

We are very lucky to have awesome views of the Sierra Nevada and Coastal ranges, very often we have a front seat view of Half Dome itself.

Dairy view

Half Dome in Yosemite as seen from my families dairy farm

So as you fly over my farm please wave and remember we are down here everyday working on the farm caring for the cows who are helping provide healthy food for everyone.

About raylindairy

Ray is a partner with his parents in Ray-Lin Dairy in Denair, Ca. The operation milks 475 cows and double crops corn & winter forage on 130 of the 240 acres with about 90 acres of pasture. The family also has 1200 ac operation in Klamath Falls OR that raises alfalfa hay, wheat hay, and oat hay. Ray is currently secretary of the Agchat Foundation an entity he helped found whose mission is to empower farmer to use social media. He is currently a on the board of directors of CA Dairy Campaign, Dairy CARES, and is the 2nd Vice-President of Stanislaus County Farm Bureau. He is also a member of the National Dairy Board. In addition to his involvement in agricultural organizations’ he is the Chairperson of the Governance Committee at a newly formed charter school his daughter attends, and serves as a director for the East Stanislaus Resource Conservation District. Ray and his wife Erica live on the dairy with their two children.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Want to see my farm?

  1. I know which landings and takeoffs from Memphis give me a chance to pick out my house…. I love picking out familiar places from so far above.

    Posted by JPlovesCOTTON | June 24, 2011, 10:40 PM
  2. It’s a farmer skill! I was able to spot our relative’s farm in Maui from the mountain top at Haleakala crater.

    Posted by Thefarmerslife | July 13, 2011, 7:47 PM

Leave a comment

Farmer Bloggers

Rambles

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15.9K other subscribers

Follow the herd on Facebook!

Categories